Obssession

Oh, jeez. I am obssessing about Paris. I think about it during the day. I dream about it at night. I’m starting to dream in French again. My Pinterest board for Paris just hit 1,700 pins, and I spend far too much time on Trip Advisor and Yelp looking up restaurants, patisseries, flower shops, etc. and bookmarking them. I think I now have more than enough places to eat on my list than I will have time to visit. Not to mention the serendipitious places I hope to stumble across once I’m actually in the city. I’m also hoping I find places to eat that are cheaper than the ones I’ve researched; I know Paris is expensive, but the charges at some of these restaurants is patently ridiculous for those of us who toil for a living. I do plan on taking advantage of the open air markets, though, and preparing a goodly number of meals chez moi.

I’m also hoping the flood situation improves in Great Britain before I’m scheduled to arrive. Travel to Devon and Cornwall is greatly interrupted due to groundwater levels, and is halted altogether in some places. The BBC News says the floodwaters could last for months, and train rails have been completely washed away in Dawlish, Devon. I’m hoping like crazy that things return to some semblance of normal by late June, not only for me but for the homeowners affected by the deluge. Global warming at work, indeed.

Aside from dreaming, I’ve been taking care of a few practical issues as well. The cost of using my cell phone for texting will be too high, so I plan on staying in touch via the free Wi-Fi access points across the city and using Facebook Messenger. I have my proof of insurance document, and I’ve put a reminder in my calendar to notify my credit card company of my travel dates. I’ve noted the location of the American Embassy in Paris, and I’ll be staying with a doctor for heaven’s sake. Barring some great unforeseen tragedy, things are well on their way to being set. I’m ready!

Leave a comment